Rediscovering Flash Fiction

100-Word Writing Challenge, Day 11

Dan Belmont
Nov 11, 2020
Photo by Ezekiel Elin on Unsplash

For the past few days, I have been rediscovering flash fiction.

I wrote a 100-word story for Centina Pentina and submitted another 50-word story, which will be published there soon.

For a writer in recovery, there couldn’t be a better place to start. The prompts are original and entertaining. And, a crucial point, the length restriction makes it easier to finish writing the story in one sitting — right before self-doubt can kick in.

I know I will eventually need to gradually stretch my comfort zone and regain the confidence to work on longer stories, but I’m taking it slow this time. I don’t want to overextend myself and end up in a rut again.

Most important of all, I’m having fun.

More posts from the 100-Word Writing Challenge:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

--

--

Dan Belmont

Writer. Software developer. Zen Buddhism practitioner. Email: danbelmontwriter@gmail.com Instagram: @fountainpenhaiku